Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2014, 06:28 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: MSS726
WOE: Low Carb
Newbie trying to understand

Hi all,

I am new to Nutritional Ketosis, but not new to low carb. I have been low carbing for a few years now. Truth have it, I was utilizing the low carb recipe board too much and gained 20 lbs. over the past winter after surgery with too many low carb desserts and snacks. Well, I got desperate and wasn't losing so I joined Weight Watchers - but tried to follow a low carb diet. I know, I know... I did loose 10 lbs and then I just stopped. No weight loss. Plus I was veering away from low carb too much because they just leave too many options.

Then, through all of this, I found a recipe for bulletproof coffee. I don't drink caffeinated coffee, so I made it with a good strong decaf.

My recipe is 1 tbs. coconut oil, 1 tbs. ghee, cinnamon, and dash or 2 of cayenne pepper, dash of heavy cream with coffee whipped in my bullet. It was amazing, and I found out I was simply not hungry for hours. I couldn't believe it curbed my appetite so much. I then decided to read up on nutritional ketosis, but don't really understand all of the science involved, nor if I am doing it correctly.

I have only been on this strict for about 4 days, and no weight loss yet, but feel like I may be down somewhat in the tummy area. Mind you, I have only 15 lbs to loose, and I am 60, so I am expecting a slower weight loss.

Should I worry about watching calories?

My menu today consisted of my bulletproof coffee first thing this a.m., then at work for breakfast, bacon, several pieces, and 1 hard boiled egg topped with some mayo, (actually, a packet).