Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2014, 12:05 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: LynnH
New to All of This

Hi, my name is Lynn ...I am 60 years old ...I am a type 2 diabetic and I'm on statins for cholesterol and take scripts for blood pressure.
I am very new to this concept of high fat, low carb...Like I'm just trying to start it today. I have a lot of questions and concerns I am hoping to find answers to if that is alright.

I have been all over the place with my diet lately and I have to find one that works and stick to it. I have been a vegetarian/vegan for the past year and 1/2 and that hasn't exactly worked for me being diabetic because my main source of calories ended up being carbs. I also can't get over the idea that we've been sold, that fat is BAD. I do know however if you're limiting carbs that the only other source of calories is fat. It's quite a conundrum.

I am not trying to lose weight, that is not my problem ...so I wanted to know if the only reason to eat this way is to lose weight or if there are other health benefits to eating this way. I don't want to lose weight because I'm already too skinny ...I lost a lot of body mass/muscle eating the vegan diet. I do however have the carb belly thing. Is there any way to eat this diet and not lose weight? Also is it dangerous for diabetics, because I get light headed and panicky when my blood sugar drops and the first thing I think of doing is grabbing a carb. (I'm not on insulin yet, and I don't want to be). It's getting to the point where I can't eat anything. As soon as I put fats in my mouth for the day, I know I can't then eat carbs or I'm in trouble. I don't know what to do.