Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2014, 11:39 AM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: meryl36
what to do with bone broth

hi
I'm new to this whole keto thing but I recently started making bone broth. I use chicken feet with a few carrots & onions and as long as I don't use too much water it always gels nicely. At first I was just drinking a mug of each morning but I'm not really thrilled with the taste (mine doesn't taste like chicken broth) so I was wondering how everyone else uses it. I don't really make many soups so that idea is out. any other suggestions as to what to do with this lovely stuff?
thanks
Meryl
meryl36 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 02-26-2014, 04:27 PM   #2
Chatty Cathy

Gallery: clackley
Stats: 228.5/168/125
WOE: N.K.=vlc/hf/moderate protein & organic/pastured
Start Date: Restart Oct 18 2009
Chicken broth is great as a base for soups, to add to sauces and other recipes and drink with a pat of butter. The basic 'recipe' is throwing he following ingredients into a large stock pot. Bring to a boil and then simmer, covered for at least 12 hours - 24 hrs. Is better.

2-3 chicken carsusses
1- 2 onions
4-5 garlic cloves
1-2 tbsp. black pepper corns (whole)
1-2 carrots
3-4 celery stalks (including leaves)
1 tbsp vinegar
2-3 bay leaves

In the last hour of cooking, toss in a bunch of kombu or other seaweed. Strain and cool in the fridge. I remove most of the fat. Salt can be added as needed after the cooking process. I don't salt it until I am using it.

No need to peel onions, garlic or carrots either.

"The energy content of food (calories) matters, but it is less important than the metabolic effect of food on our body." Dr. P. Attia