Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2013, 12:47 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Rivergirl
Stats: 188/186/154
WOE: New to NK
Start Date: Jan 2014
New to LC - calorie confusion

Hello everyone

I'm new to low carb, just starting on low carb-high fat and I'm a little confused. I hope someone may be able to help!

I've read Gary Taubes' "Why we get fat and what to do about it" (think that's what it's called). In it, Gary says we only need to keep carbs low to lose weight, we don't need to count calories and that if we stop eating when we're full, we'll still lose weight. Yet many posts here indicate that contributors are indeed counting calories and protein too in order to lose weight. Is that related to the individuality of dietary needs/reactions or have I missed something?

I'm 5'8", 44yo, female and 188lbs. Weight loss goal c.40lbs. And very grateful for any help from members!

Thanks
Bryony
Rivergirl is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 12-26-2013, 02:02 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Patience
I think a lot of it is down to individuality. It seems though from posts that I read around this forum, that for many people who are close to goal or perhaps older (maybe women in particular) might need to focus more on the total package and not just reducing carbs. The NK approach stresses low carb, moderate protein, and fat to make up the difference. There is usually an caloric limit lurking around. You are now on the NK subforum so you are undoubtedly getting a load of that particular WOE.

That said, many people lose on Atkins sorts of approaches just by keeping carbs low.

Last edited by Patience; 12-26-2013 at 02:03 PM..
Patience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 02:56 PM   #3