Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2013, 01:13 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: elliot
Stats: 132/117/110
WOE: NK - HFLC/Atkins Induction
Start Date: Aug 2013
Newbie into NK.

Hello,

I'm new to NK, but have been on Atkins induction for a while. I did read through the other posts in this forum and was really interested by the post "Just the Facts, Ma'am" (Thankyou MerryKate)

I'm 4'9" with a small body frame and my ideal weight would be 48kg. I am 56kg now and trying to work out my protein and calories based on that.

Quote:
Dr. Phinney defined the appropriate protein range as being between 1.5 and 2.0 grams per kg of ideal weight. The formula looks like this:
Your goal kg is (goal_weight/2.2) so (goal_weight/2.2)*1.5 = protein grams daily.
So my protein would be: 48kg/2.2*1.5 = 32.7 grams
or to round it off, about 40grams?

Quote:
Dr. Phinney gives a range of 30-35kCal per goal kg weight.
Phinney's formula for daily calories: ((goal_weight/2.2)*30) or ((goal_weight/2.2)*35).
So, if your goal weight is 150 then (150/2.2)*35 = 2386. ~2400 calories is what a normally active person that has a correct weight of 150 pounds would burn daily.
My calorie needs would be: 48kg/2.2*35 = 763.6
or to round it off, about 800 cals.
OR
My calorie needs would be: 106lbs/2.2*35 = 1686.3
or to round it off, about 1690 cals.