Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 10:22 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: orbecky
Stats: 215/202.0/150
WOE: Fat Fast / NK
Start Date: September 2013
At what level should ketones stay?

Hi, I'm new to NK, but am doing a fat fast to kick start my metabolism, which seemed to be non-existent after several months of lc dieting.
I received my ketone meter last week, and checked my ketones after a couple of days into the fat fast - 0.8.
I figured it would take me a while to reach the 2.0 level I read about in the Dana Carpender Fat Fast Recipes book because of my sluggish metabolism, so I kept on fat fasting, figuring I would stop when I reached 2.0.
I decided to test again after 7 days of fat fasting. My reading is 3.5! I didn't intend to go this high, but I'm wondering what the optimal level is? 2.0 or up to 3.0 like the Fat Fast book talks about?
I obviously want to add in a few more carbs and protein. I've been fat fasting at 85-88/10-12/5ish...and right now I feel great and have plenty of energy. I sleep better, and feel more refreshed when I awaken. I haven't noticed any downside to the fat fast. Once you get used to the small feedings, you don't get as hungry, so not a problem to continue those. And I have lost almost 10 pounds, so that's a big plus for me! And for the first time my BS is 80. Before the fat fast, I was lucky to get it down to 100!
What do you all feel is the optimal level to maintain so that I continue to lose weight in NK?
Please sound off your opinions and experience to me.
Thanks!

Last edited by orbecky; 10-01-2013 at 10:32 PM..
orbecky is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 10-02-2013, 01:50 AM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Punkin
Stats: 160/95/100
WOE: NK or LC