Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 03:46 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: UpErMei
Stats: 158/165/128
Does it have to be complicated?

I'm new to the idea of NK, but not lc or higher fat lc.

The idea of having to buy a special meter and strips intimidates me. Is this necessary? Can I just rely on how I feel and occasionally use ketone test strips?

TIA!
UpErMei is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 07-02-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
Chatty Cathy

Gallery: clackley
Stats: 228.5/168/125
WOE: N.K.=vlc/hf/moderate protein & organic/pastured
Start Date: Restart Oct 18 2009
Testing for ketones with the test strips is a useful tool but totally not a necessity. Lots of people go by how they feel to establish whether they are in ketosis or not and then just adhere to your plan to assure adaption.
clackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: djlottawa
Stats: 265/196/170
WOE: Low carb/Moderate protein/high fat
Start Date: November 2012
I just started also, but I just buy the pee sticks. Cost me like $9 for 50 of them. I use them like every 3 days. But also, I look at my energy level and my waist line.

Only have been on HK for about week and half, but was already on low carb (just around 100-150) for years compared to the high 300s.

I already went from 265 to 198, using different methods, but now I am on HK I notice my belt is loser and that tells me I am losing. I actually tested morning and I have traces (0.5). I am under 50g per day of carbs.
djlottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:35 PM   #4
Chatty Cathy

Quote:
Originally Posted by djlottawa View Post