Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/nutritional-ketosis-high-fat-low-carb/)
-   -   Does it have to be complicated? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/nutritional-ketosis-high-fat-low-carb/807297-does-have-complicated.html)

UpErMei 07-02-2013 03:46 PM

Does it have to be complicated?

I'm new to the idea of NK, but not lc or higher fat lc.

The idea of having to buy a special meter and strips intimidates me. Is this necessary? Can I just rely on how I feel and occasionally use ketone test strips?

TIA!

clackley 07-02-2013 04:26 PM

Testing for ketones with the test strips is a useful tool but totally not a necessity. Lots of people go by how they feel to establish whether they are in ketosis or not and then just adhere to your plan to assure adaption.

djlottawa 07-02-2013 04:28 PM

I just started also, but I just buy the pee sticks. Cost me like $9 for 50 of them. I use them like every 3 days. But also, I look at my energy level and my waist line.

Only have been on HK for about week and half, but was already on low carb (just around 100-150) for years compared to the high 300s.

I already went from 265 to 198, using different methods, but now I am on HK I notice my belt is loser and that tells me I am losing. I actually tested morning and I have traces (0.5). I am under 50g per day of carbs.

clackley 07-02-2013 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djlottawa (Post 16497461)
I just started also, but I just buy the pee sticks. Cost me like $9 for 50 of them. I use them like every 3 days. But also, I look at my energy level and my waist line.

Only have been on HK for about week and half, but was already on low carb (just around 100-150) for years compared to the high 300s.