Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/nutritional-ketosis-high-fat-low-carb/)
-   -   Food Substitutions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/nutritional-ketosis-high-fat-low-carb/806604-food-substitutions.html)

Littlewing76 06-21-2013 04:09 PM

Food Substitutions

Hi. I'm very new to the ketogenic diet and am having a difficult time finding subs for dishes I make. Last night I made a coconut chicken curry dish and served it over kale. I spiked up the fat buy frying the chicken thighs in coconut oil, which was good. I just found that Kale has a good amount of carbs. Also a 8oz can on tomato sauce and tomatoes were in the curry and they also have carbs. Just don't know how to make dishes and keep them low carb... Any suggestions? Thanks.

Patience 06-21-2013 07:21 PM

You could delete the tomatoes . . . would still taste fine, imo.

lrrych 06-22-2013 04:48 AM

Hi Littlewing..try this. After frying up the chicken in coconut oil, you'll have a mix of the oil along with rendered chicken fat remaining in your sautee pan. As you know, the quality of the fat you eat is crucial, so make sure the chicken is preferably organic but free range -antibiotic free is ok too. After removing the chicken caramelize some onion in the fat then add your curry powder or paste (if you're doing Thai curry) and let it become fragrant. At this point you can add either half a cup stock or 2 T vinegar or 1/4 C. citrus juice to the pan..let it reduce a little then add 1/3- 1/2 C heavy cream or coconut milk. Reduce a little more and finish with a tab of butter. If using chicken thighs with skin on...you'll be looking at something close to 81% fat/13.5% protein/5.5%carb/ 624 calories if using cream....75%fat/14.5% protein/10.5%carb/594 calories if using coconut milk.

clackley 06-22-2013 07:29 AM