Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/nutritional-ketosis-high-fat-low-carb/)
-   -   Blood Ketone Questions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/nutritional-ketosis-high-fat-low-carb/798204-blood-ketone-questions.html)

TeamRedrac 03-01-2013 08:18 AM

Blood Ketone Questions

Excuse me for my ignorance because I am new at Ketone testing. I just got my Nova Max Plus today. I tesed and it just says LO. When i look that up in the book it states that your blood ketone reading is lower that 0.1 mmol/L, No Action Required. I am not exactly sure what the levels are to be officialy in NK. I have only just started about a week ago, so I knew I would be there yet and was mostly playing. Is there a Blood Ketosis Chart anywhere?

Thanks in Advance for your help!!!

Jennifer
210/112/120
147/140/120 This Time Around

LarlaB 03-01-2013 10:58 AM

I have a Nova Max as well. :) To be in Ketosis means a reading of .5 as a minimum, and up to 3.0 I believe.... Have you calibrated it?

You'll be there soon! I bumped out of ketosis last weekend for 2-3 days, and it took me some time to get back in. My readings started at LO and gradually rose .2, .4, .9, back up to 1.6.

TeamRedrac 03-01-2013 01:36 PM

No I haven't, I see in the book that you need Nova Max B-ketone control solution. I can't seem to find a place to get that from. Do you know of a place that sells it?

LarlaB 03-01-2013 09:50 PM

It came w/ the meter...a very small eye drop looking bottle w/ blue solution.

NKSL55 03-02-2013 11:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LarlaB (Post 16289961)
It came w/ the meter...a very small eye drop looking bottle w/ blue solution.

Do you have a Nova Max Plus? I don't think mine came with control solution.