Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 12:54 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: MrsDickson
WOE: Unknown Right now
New, Trying to figure this out?

I'm new to Keto...well to dieting in general.

I've always been a low cal eater. And my carbs usually sat around 100. With those eating habits my weight stays very steady. Since reaching adulthood, I've only really gained weight twice, which is when I was pregnant.

After my first daughter was born I went from the 140s to 154. I stayed between 154 and 156. I didn't mind this, I was still happy with my weight.

By the time my second daughter was born I was 171, and by 6 weeks after I was 180. I've stayed between 180 and 184 since. Tomorrow will be a year since her birth. I've looked into different diet plans and I liked what I learned about the ketogenic diet. But everything I read wanted you to cut out all sugars until you hit ketosis.

Which is the problem. Since my second daughter was born, my BP and my blood sugar tends to drop very fast if I eat to little or not enough. Yesterday I was at 31 carbs by the end of the day. Today I've put myself at 60 (as long as I follow my meal plan) because I ended up having a sugar drop in the middle of the store and grabbed the first thing I could which ended up being a chocolate bar.

Can I start a keto diet with fruit? Or do I have to cut out all of the sugars?

Suggestions are much appreciated?
MrsDickson is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 02-08-2013, 01:32 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: rubidoux
Stats: 214/130/130 (5'2")
WOE: HF/MP/LC
Start Date: restart 9/2012