Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 09:30 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: bjjcaveman
Stats: 180.0/180.4/165.0
WOE: nutritional ketosis
Biochemistry Primer

- Here's a write up I've been working on -

When I tried to explain nutritional ketosis to my family recently I was met with a lot of blank and confused looks. I incorrectly assumed that my family knew as much as I did regarding regarding nutrition, biochemistry, and physiology and forgot that no one else in my family has a science background (I have a degree in physiology and work in healthcare).

To understand how nutritional ketosis works you have to understand a little bit of biochemistry. So I wanted to type up something that my family and anyone else who doesn’t have a science background can refer to.

Here are a few basic topics that I think will help someone have a better understanding of nutritional ketosis (and any other diet). I know this is extremely simplified and is extremely NOT comprehensive, but it’s as good a place to start as any. I hope you find this helpful.

The BJJ Caveman’s Primer on Basic Biochemistry

Macronutrients

Carbohydrates
  • Carbohydrates that you eat are combinations of sugar molecules
  • Glucose is the most common type of sugar molecule
  • Your body digests carbohydrates by breaking them down into their component sugar molecules
  • These are then absorbed into your blood stream.
  • This causes a spike in your blood glucose levels.
  • Insulin is a hormone released by your body when your blood sugar spikes to bring your blood sugar back into the normal range.
  • The glucose in your bloodstream is first used for any immediate energy needs and any left over is converted for storage.