Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 06:27 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Punkin
Stats: 160/95/100
WOE: NK or LC
Please help explain this...

I am new to understanding how ketosis works. I have been in ketosis for approximately 3 weeks now and I am fairly active. On Saturday I went out XC skiing for about an hour, which is a sport that takes a lot of energy, but I was only out for an hour. It is fairly high in cardio demands.

Anyways, I felt a little down in energy, and although I could do it in a ketogenic state, it certainly wasn't as good as when my body was functioning on high carb. Then after I went home, I felt completely drained and this lasted nearly two days. I didn't not feel sick, just utterly exhausted and could barely get out of bed Sunday Morning. I think what I might have experienced was something close to what "bonking" feels like. But if I am in ketosis, why would this happen? If my body knows how to use fat for energy and I have a lot of body fat, not to mention the fact that I am feeding my body tons of fat per day, why do I feel this way? What is going on?

If anyone has an idea please explain it to me. I have ordered the performance book but it hasn't arrived yet. It said it may take another 4 weeks for me to get it.
Punkin is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-2013, 08:43 AM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: bjjcaveman
Stats: 180.0/180.4/165.0
WOE: nutritional ketosis
Just checking... How do you know you are in ketosis? Are you using blood strips?

I have the same feeling as you when I get hypoglycemic after a long workout. But when I'm in ketosis, as verified with the blood strips, my bonking goes away no matter how vigorous the workout.