Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Punkin
Stats: 160/95/100
WOE: NK or LC
Ketosis friendly foods to eat when out.

I just returned from a mini conference for work and found myself at a complete loss trying to figure out what to eat. Most of the meals were catered and I found myself doing things like picking the filling out of sandwiches (cream cheese and smoked salmon) and snacking on cheese and coffee cream all day long.

I am not sure what types of meals or foods are ketosis friendly when you are out. I am new so I am not sure what to do. What do people usually order or do you just give up and bring your own food. I am new to the diet so I am not sure. It seems like everything around is either too high in carbs or too high in protein and nothing is high enough in fat. Any advice would be appreciated thanks.
Punkin is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-2013, 02:04 PM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: jillybean720
Stats: 324/193/150
WOE: LC/HF
When eating out, I usually end up high in protein, and I just keep my carbs low and add as much fat as I can to the meal. I'll do things like a salad with lots of protein and fat (greens with bacon, cheese, egg, oil-based or creamy non-sweet dressing, avocado, etc.); a bunless burger with extra cheese and mayo; sides of green veggies with extra butter piled on in place of usual starchy sides...

That said I don't test ketone levels, but I'm sure the extra protein would have an impact. I refuse to avoid eating out; doing so would cripple me soacially and professionally.
Weight goals currently on hold due to pregnancy...baby #2 coming late October/early November 2013!