Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 05:53 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Punkin
Stats: 160/95/100
WOE: NK or LC
Buying a blood ketone meter

I think I need to start using one, especially since I have some dietary challenges

Does anyone have one that is recommended. Also where can I get one and how much do they cost approximately.

I don't know anything about them.
Punkin is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 12-27-2012, 06:10 AM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Mobear
Stats: 235/195/LESS
WOE: Bernstein
Start Date: 9/2010
I'm not an expert on this since I just purchased mine this last week . I think the only 2 available are from Precision and NovaMax. Precision tends to be a little more accurate but the strips are REALLY expensive. NovaMax doesn't seem to be quite as accurate (at least with glucose readings) but the strips are a little more reasonable. I usually look up this kind of thing on amazon. Some people have reported good prices from american diabetes wholesale so you might want to look there also.

Just remember that the meter has to check blood ketones - not just glucose. Any strips you are looking at must check blood ketones - not the urine ketones (those strips are very inexpensive).

Others will chime in with more info I'm sure
Mobear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:24 AM   #3
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: UnstrungHarp
Stats: 147/141/120
WOE: NK; HF/MP/LC
Start Date: November 1, 2012