Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Weight Loss Plans > Nutritional Ketosis / High Fat, Low Carb
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 01:27 AM   #1
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: lilly29
Anyone doing NK within a paleo framework?

I've been eating low carb paleo for several months now, and I feel amazing. Like, AMAZING. Skin is so incredibly clear, great energy, great sleep, no digestive issues, and more. Unfortunately the weight is slow to come off, and I've been at the same weight for 2+ months.

I'm interested in trying nutritional ketosis, but I'm wondering if anyone is making it work without dairy (and the fat it brings with it)? I eat occasional bacon, but the only bacon I've found to be completely sugar-free, nitrite-free, and from naturally raised pigs is too cost prohibitive to eat daily. I do cook most things in butter I've clarified myself, removing all the milk solids as well, but my fat % usually doesn't come in much higher than 55ish percent.
lilly29 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 09-26-2012, 06:47 AM   #2
Blabbermouth!!!

Gallery: reddarin
Stats: 6' 47y/o 265/193/170
WOE: NK
Start Date: Aug 13, 2011
NK is a perfect fit for paleo LC I think.

The dairy is just a convenient and tasty fat for coffee, floats and shakes.

Any oil that isn't polyunsaturated will work with NK I think. You can have coconut oil on paleo?

Even without CO, real butter has a lot of the MCT that gives CO a lot of its umpf. And, of course, rendered animal fat is all good.
reddarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:15 PM   #3
Major LCF Poster!

Thank you for the feedback!
Old 09-26-2012, 04:34 PM   #4
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: svenskamae
Stats: 235/178/135 5'3"
WOE: Nutritional Ketosis/Primal/JUDDD
Start Date: January 15, 2012