Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Eating and Exercise Plans > Muscle Matters!
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2010, 03:32 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: ellybelle
Stats: 180/150/145
WOE: mod carbs
Start Date: June 2007
Puny triceps

I've been lifting weights for a few months and a few weeks ago went to a 3 day split (lower body, shoulders+back, chest+biceps+triceps). I seem to be gaining strength well even though the results are not particularly visible. I'm almost 53 and "skinny fat" - well, not so skinny at this point.

The only area where I am not making any progress is my triceps. In fact, this week I lost strength there despite gaining it elsewhere. My dinky triceps are really a hindrance - I'd like to eventually do pushups but never seem to get anywhere with strengthening them. Not to mention the bat wings.

I'm also quite tall (5' 11") and very small-framed and don't put on muscle easily.

Would working just the triceps 3X week be useful while sticking to the 3 day split for the rest? I usually build to 12 reps for three sets, then up the weight, so I think I'm lifting "heavy" for me.

Thanks,
Elly
ellybelle is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 02-09-2010, 09:17 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Jenn_in_NJ
Stats: 267/142/135
WOE: JUDDD/IF
Start Date: 2001
What exercises are you doing now for your triceps? Triceps get worked when you are doing other compound exercises, like a chest press.

Are you doing any kind of push-ups now, like wall push ups or modified ones you do on your knees?

You could split it up and do a heavy tricep day and light another day. Heavy is 6-8 reps.

3x a week doesn't give them much rest and it takes away strength from your other exercises meaning, if you fatigue your triceps your chest press will suffer. But your goal is to make your triceps stronger so it changes things a bit.