Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   The Maintain Lane (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/maintain-lane/)
-   -   What strategies do you use to maintain? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/maintain-lane/794459-what-strategies-do-you-use-maintain.html)

Punkin 01-14-2013 04:13 PM

What strategies do you use to maintain?

I thought I would start this thread so people could share what strategies worked for them, in hopes that it would help people with weight maintenance. I have a history of being a yoyo dieter and back then when I was, it was not fun. I guess I have been maintaining my weight in a healthy range for over ten years, although I will admit not all my strategies I would consider to be good ones:stars:

Here are some things that have helped me in no particular order:

-Recognizing that for me, food an addiction (more specifically carbs) and breaking that addiction.

-Understanding that not everyone has food addiction, meaning I can't eat like everyone else.

-Understanding that yes, I have an eating disorder caused by a physiological problem and not a mental one (carbs are the root cause of my issues with food/weight control, not lack of willpower or low self esteem etc.)

-Placing the blame where it really belongs: "on how we have manipulated food for a pleasure experience from a need for basic survival"

-Recognizing that although exercise can be used to help manage weight it is not a good strategy because it aggravates the problem some people have with carbs.

-Recognizing that my weight problem is caused by over-eating, and determining why I was over-eating was the key to success.

-figuring how not to "overeat."

-understanding the difference between eating for pleasure and eating for survival.

-recognizing the difference between false hunger "eating in response to insulin spikes" and real hunger "I need food because I am under-eating."