Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Main Lowcarb Lobby
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2014, 08:09 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Snackycake
Stats: 145.8/132.2/125 (every .1 lb counts!)
WOE: Atkins plus (recently) JUDDD
Start Date: July 2014
Carb ladder and post-induction stall

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie, I started on Atkins on 7/15 (so just over 3 weeks ago) and have been really pleased with it so far. I've been lurking the boards a lot lately, so I know there are some really wise people on these forums! Hopefully you can help me

I started Atkins (NANY) with the induction phase - but including nuts & seeds, since I thought I might extend it (okay, and also because I wasn't sure I'd make it without them ... ), and by day 13 I was down 7 pounds and safely into the 130s, at 138.8! Woo!! But it seems I've fallen victim to the dreaded Post-Induction Stall Syndrome, as I've been bouncing up and down between 138.8 and 140 since that day, up and down (like the world's lamest roller coaster), but never any lower than 138.8. Because I don't have a whole lot to lose - I'm about 15 lbs from my goal weight - I feel it's important for me to move into OWL so I can learn my CCLL, which foods work for me, etc.

But my question is: because I'm in a stall and don't know when it'll end (I know the last 10 - 20lbs come off slooooowly), how can I safely move up the carb ladder since I won't necessarily be able to tell if it's a particular food/carb level that's making me stall, or whether it's just a continuation of the stall I'm in right now? Any tips?

For the sake of complete information, an average day's food for me looks like this:
1 cup of coffee, 1.5 tbsp half&half (sometimes heavy cream), 2 splenda
4 strips of thick cut bacon, 2 eggs scrambled in .25 tbsp butter