Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Main Lowcarb Lobby
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2014, 06:10 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Skinny Train
How does one make food a non-issue?

I've been a bit obsessed with food my entire life. As an adult headed toward middle age, I've realized that I eat to calm anxiety often. I have tried doing other things to quell the anxiety. The anxiety I experience isn't from negative circumstances. I'm a very happy person with an awesome family. I get anxious over positive things; things I really want to do. Nervous energy, so to speak. Working toward the career of my dreams, as a grad student, I get to work on lots of projects and they are fun and interesting. Yes, there is pressure, but I enjoy it and thrive under pressure. The only negative thing about it is that I want to eat to calm myself down.

I've tried sugar-free gum and mints, but they make me hungrier. I exercise regularly and love it, but it's only for a short part of the day. Just not sure how to make food a non-issue. Has anyone been able to do that? If so, how?
Skinny Train is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 03-13-2014, 06:21 AM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: MargD
Stats: 134/127/<119 (Orig. 180)
WOE: Pescatarian/LC/5:2
Start Date: May, 2011
I often wish I could be more like my husband, who couldn't care less about food. Eating is almost a bother to him.
MargD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 06:28 AM   #3
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Mistizoom
Stats: 300/202/190 initial goal
WOE: low carb
Start Date: November 2012
Perhaps you need to discuss your anxiety with a therapist.
Mistizoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 06:36 AM   #4
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Larissima
Stats: Waist: 110/100/75cm, 5'10"
WOE: LCHF
Start Date: 21 Jan 2014