Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Portion sizes? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/824493-portion-sizes.html)

Godslamb 02-26-2014 02:46 PM

Portion sizes?

Hello,
I am relatively new to this way of eating. I am doing low carb high fat.
I have talked to my nutritionist today as I was struggling with the fact that after 7 weeks, I am not only not losing weight, but actually have gained 3 lbs.
So after carefully checking my menu logs, she realized that I am actually having more like 80-90 carbs a day instead of the <40 she thinks I need to do. So I asked her if portion sizes made the difference and she said yes. Well later on, I realized I am unsure what portion sizes look like on low carb. Is there something we follow? If I have a recipe that serves 6, do I simply cut it into 6 portions and wrap the rest? It seems like such a small portion to me. How much meat are we allowed? Obviously I am still confused about this. :dunno:
Thanks for any help.
Carol

Dottie 02-26-2014 02:54 PM

Well, all the questions depend on what plan you're following, since they all have different rules.
As for portions, yes of course. There's a huge difference in a cup of spinach and a pound, nutritionally, calories, carbs, etc. As with any food.
I suggest getting a food scale and getting familiar with what a serving size is on the foods you like:)
And a lot of low-carb recipes have very small servings because they use a lot of high fat/calorie ingredients and having larger servings would be (simply put) eating too much.
A lot of the entree type recipes loaded with meat, cheese, cream, butter, etc ARE small servings, and you flesh out the meal with low-carb veggies like a salad or something :)

luckymuma 02-26-2014 03:03 PM