Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Main Lowcarb Lobby
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 02:25 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: haleyjr17
New Here, seeking motivation!

Hi there, I'm 25, and weighing in at 240 pounds. I desperately want to lose the weight and feel good about myself. I have tried to count calories, weight watchers, etc. and I feel that I am not good at moderation, and when I eat crap it keeps me craving junk. So, I am wanting to start atkins. My only question is I see people say that Atkins is not sustainable and that it makes you irritable and lethargic. Any experience with this? And any tips for getting started and staying on track. I'm nervous because I know I will have to eat different that my husband and child for the most part, but I know I have too. Thanks in advance!
haleyjr17 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 01-30-2014, 02:38 PM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: BubblyRen
Stats: 253/210/feeling healthy!, 5'5", 26
WOE: Generic LC
Start Date: 12/31/13
Hey Haley! I'm 26 and started out at 253 pounds just a little over a month ago. I'm not doing Atkins per se, but I am eating low carb. I noticed an almost immediate improvement in the amount of energy I had. There is an adjustment period of course, but for me it was only about a week or so. During that time I had some headaches and some really strong cravings for carbs. But right away I started feeling like I could get up and do things, whereas before I would come home from work and just crash on the couch day after day. That alone has been enough to keep me motivated so far, let alone the weight loss.

Anyway, welcome! You'll find a lot of supportive people here.

My Journal!
BubblyRen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:57 PM   #3
Chatty Cathy

Gallery: clackley
Stats: 228.5/168/125
WOE: N.K.=vlc/hf/moderate protein & organic/pastured