Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Advise on my ketogenic diet? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/804929-advise-my-ketogenic-diet.html)

jkc1 05-28-2013 08:29 AM

Advise on my ketogenic diet?

Hey everyone,

I'm new here so I'm really sorry if this threat is in the wrong place :(

I've started a strict ketogenic diet a couple of days ago in an attempt to burn 2-3 kg of excess fat. I was hoping to get some feedback on my diet so far as I'm new to all this. Thank you :)

Breakfast
4 scrambled eggs
24-48g (pure, unflavoured) protein shake
1 'Centrium' multivitamin tablet (as I'm avoiding veg.)
2 BCAA+ tablets

Lunch
Pork chop
4 thin sausages
Boiled egg
5g L-glutamine powder (pure, unflavoured)

Dinner
Two pork chops
4 Sausages
3 Pieces of bacon

• I'm restricting my caloric intake to 1,500 a day (I'm 6ft and 71kg)
  • I'm only drinking water and have kept carbohydrate and sugar intake to nill.
  • I'm trying to consume 200g protein and 100g fat a day

Does this sound all right, or am I missing something drastic? I've done some research but I'm honestly so new to all this.

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

Ntombi 05-28-2013 03:07 PM

Welcome to the group. Even though you're not following a specific plan, I can tell you right now that your protein and fat goals are upside down. Way too much protein.

When you eat more protein than your body needs, the excess will be converted to glucose and eventually stored as fat (gross oversimplification). It also inhibits your ketosis. Better to eat what your body needs and consume the rest as fat.

And why are you avoiding vegetables at all? Very few people need to eat close to zero carb to be in ketosis.

rubidoux 05-28-2013 03:13 PM