LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: lilbeetle
Stats: 165/127/125(5'4)
WOE: Primal with intermittant M&E
Start Date: March 2013
How Do I Answer This?

I get so tired of well meaning, but not very well informed people advising others on low carbing. I recentl read the following in part of a discussion and it really annoyed me

"I also would like to echo the sentiment about calcium and potassium: two crucial minerals that might be lacking in "high protein" diets, and I'd really hate to read about you dealing with osteoporosis or muscle/nerve/heart problems from improper calcium or potassium levels.

I think if you can get these things at proper levels from food sources, it's better than taking supplements, but getting good nutrition takes a little more work (hence the ******** recommendation)."

It just seems like a scare tactic to me. I would love to respond, but since i am still fairly new at this, Im not confident in my knowlege base yet.
lilbeetle is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 05-14-2013, 03:17 PM   #2
Blabbermouth!!!

Gallery: Ntombi
Stats: Restart: 360/284.4/190
WOE: Atkins for weight loss, NK for maintenance.
Start Date: Restarted: 1-3-13 Original: 8-23-02
First of all, nutritional ketosis is not a high protein diet.

Secondly, a well formulated ketogenic diet is not lacking in potassium or calcium. Both are readily available in many of the foods that we often eat.

Thirdly, mind their freaking business, especially if they don't know what they're talking about in the first place, which their comments clearly show.
Ntombi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:21 PM   #3
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Arctic_Mama
Stats: 257/145.8/140
WOE: Atkins 2002/Protocol
Start Date: Began losing 10/08. Working off last 20 lbs.