LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 05:39 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: momof1
Stats: 212/188/145
WOE: atkins
Start Date: 01/01/2014
hidden carbs?

So as you can see by my stats I am new to this lifestyle. I refuse to call it a diet because to me that indicates a stop time...and I refuse to look back. Anyway, I have been very diligent about counting my carbs as I do not yet "just know". My question to all of you pros - are there any foods that have hidden carbs or anything that I should be careful about carbs creeping in and not being calculated in my daily total?
momof1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 05-13-2013, 06:09 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Mommie22boys
Stats: 211/199/135 5'5.5"
WOE: Paleo/ JUDDD
Start Date: Originally 6/7/07, Now 4/1/13
Heavy whipping cream comes to mind. For example, my carton says 50 calories per Tbls, 5 grams of fat, 0 grams of protein and 0 grams of carbs. If you do the math: 5g fat x 9cal/g = 45 calories. Not 50 as stated in the carton. So, where did the other 5 calories come from?...look to hidden carbs.

Boo. I wish cream was carb free.
Mommie22boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:13 PM   #3
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Gallery: cfine
Stats: 276/221/199
WOE: Atkins
Start Date: April 2012
Eggs
Cheese
HWC
Hot dogs
cfine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:16 PM   #4
Z
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Z
Stats: 350/250.0/155
WOE: Permanent Induction
Start Date: September 2012
Anything less the 1 carb per serving may be marked 0 carbs on the package.

The more processed something is, the more likely it is to contain some amount of maltodexrin or dextrose or starch or something.

I assume that I will eat 10 grams of undocumented carbohydrates every day, and limit myself to 20 grams of documented carbohydrate. The rule of that 10 point buffer: