Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   hidden carbs? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/804090-hidden-carbs.html)

momof1 05-13-2013 05:39 PM

hidden carbs?

So as you can see by my stats I am new to this lifestyle. I refuse to call it a diet because to me that indicates a stop time...and I refuse to look back. Anyway, I have been very diligent about counting my carbs as I do not yet "just know". My question to all of you pros - are there any foods that have hidden carbs or anything that I should be careful about carbs creeping in and not being calculated in my daily total?

Mommie22boys 05-13-2013 06:09 PM

Heavy whipping cream comes to mind. For example, my carton says 50 calories per Tbls, 5 grams of fat, 0 grams of protein and 0 grams of carbs. If you do the math: 5g fat x 9cal/g = 45 calories. Not 50 as stated in the carton. So, where did the other 5 calories come from?...look to hidden carbs.

Boo. :down: I wish cream was carb free.

cfine 05-13-2013 06:13 PM

Eggs
Cheese
HWC
Hot dogs

Z 05-13-2013 06:16 PM

Anything less the 1 carb per serving may be marked 0 carbs on the package.

The more processed something is, the more likely it is to contain some amount of maltodexrin or dextrose or starch or something.

I assume that I will eat 10 grams of undocumented carbohydrates every day, and limit myself to 20 grams of documented carbohydrate. The rule of that 10 point buffer:

I never get to assume I didn't eat those undocumented carbs. if all I ate was spinach, I assume that there were 10 undocumented or rounded carbs that snuck in.

Ntombi 05-13-2013 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Z (Post 16423203)
Anything less the 1 carb per serving may be marked 0 carbs on the package.