Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2013, 05:01 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Punkin
Stats: 160/95/100
WOE: NK or LC
I'm not really convinced....

I have been losing weight now for about 3 years steadily but it hasn't really followed a linear pattern. I am going on about a 55lb loss to date, and am probably down to my last 3lbs before hitting my goal which will be the bottom end of the desirable BMI for my stats and frame size.

But here is the thing. Although I think the body fat has been decreasing steadily the weight on the scale hasn't shown this same pattern. In fact my scale weight has jumped all over the place. I can go almost 2 months without seeing a loss of 1lb on the scale, and yet I will try on a piece of clothing that used to fit me and I am swimming in it.

A couple of strange things I have noticed. Once was a 10lb increase in my weight over a two week period that occurred after adding more fiber in my diet. And another time I had a long stall that lasted two months where there was no change in my scale weight but it turned out I had gained bodyfat. This occurred during the fall. I also notice that I never lose any scale weight over the winter, but a lot during the summer.

This leads me to thinking. I am not convinced that scale weight is a good measure of weight loss at all. It makes sense that a downward trend in scale weight can measure success over a number of years that is true; after all three years ago I weighted a lot more on the bathroom scale than I do now. But I don't think the scale is really a good way of accessing how much body fat you are actually losing in the short term. In Gary Taubes book he discusses how fat mobilization is dynamic, meaning your adipose cells are constantly releasing and storing fat all the time, with the most lipophilic tissues being the most inactive that way.