Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Sugar alcohols and hindering of weight loss (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/802861-sugar-alcohols-hindering-weight-loss.html)

Abdul1993 04-26-2013 06:41 AM

Sugar alcohols and hindering of weight loss

Some of those ingredients, like mannitol, dextrose, etc. and other sugar alcohols are supposed to hinder weight loss. However, if you aren't trying to lose weight anymore, but rather just maintain, is it okay to eat those?

Leo41 04-26-2013 06:57 AM

I think it depends on the individual. I've been maintaining for 2 years, but I can't touch any artificial sweeteners. My body seems to process them just like real sugar.

Other people seem to have no problems at all.

You probably need to find out for yourself how you 'react' to these things.

lterry913 04-26-2013 07:20 AM

Yep it depends on if you eat them and they cause carvings...because if you crave you will eat more and then gain, not maintain. It is also possible that it could cause an insulin response an tell your body to store fat...very simplified...the only way to know is to try and see if they cause cravings, test your blood sugar after eating, or see if you gain or maintain. good luck and as always tread lightly with the sugar alcohols...I don't trust em they stall me.

Chuck41 04-26-2013 07:28 AM

I used them a lot when I started. The Atkins bar that imitates a snickers is fabulous. Unfortunately, after I had dropped about twenty pounds I started to stall and discovered when I did without the bars the stall ended. Guess it depends on the individual,, the stage of weight loss, the calendar, the time of day, the humidity, etc on whether you can tolerate them or not. Have to try and see. They helped me greatly to get over my sweet obsession early on. When Iget to maintenance I will likely reintroduce them to a limited degree.