LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: atomickate
Stats: 260/200/150
WOE: Ketogenic Diet
Start Date: August 2013
From a Biochemical Perspective

I'm a senior biochemistry student at my university, and one of the biggest things about a low carb lifestyle that stuck out to me is how scientifically accurate it is! In my class, we've been studying the molecular mechanisms of metabolism, including the breakdown of fatty acids (also called beta oxidation). This is the science behind low carb diets, as the lack of glucose causes our body to use fatty acids for energy. I thought I'd give some of the most interesting things I've found so far.

1. It's a myth that we can't live without carbohydrates. Believe it or not, when fatty acids are broken down completely, they become a molecule called acetyl-CoA, which through a series of reactions, can recreate glucose, which can be used to make important things, like DNA. We don't need to consume this glucose, though.

2. Fatty acid breakdown produces almost tenfold the energy of carbohydrate breakdown, and since we have a lot of fat to break down in our bodies (or at least me, anyway), this type of diet can truly lead to a greater amount of energy in everyday life.

3. It is true that to break down fatty acids, it takes a great deal of water, for what's called a hydratase reaction, so make sure you're drinking lots and lots of water. If you dehydrate, you may not be able to break down fats.

Those are probably the most interesting things I've found so far. I hope it gives everyone some food for thought. I hope everyone has a great night!

I have a test to go study for!
atomickate is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 04-01-2013, 09:41 PM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: mainemom
Stats: 147/129/115 5' 1"
WOE: LC; Intermittent Fasting; Wheat Free
Start Date: January 2011