Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Newbie with ketosis questions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/799289-newbie-ketosis-questions.html)

UnderCoverAbs 03-12-2013 09:47 AM

Newbie with ketosis questions

Hey guys! Forgive me if this has been asked already, I browsed and didn't see it. Anyways, I'm just getting started on LC for the very first time :D I'm not "overweight" but I am "overfat" I am 26yo female, 5'7", 28-30%bf. My question is this: I *think* I finally 'reached' ketosis yesterday, but the only thing making me think that is that my urine reeks, and I lost 2.5lbs in 2 days (water, I'm sure). I was expecting headaches, tummy aches, dizziness, crankiness, fatique... I feel none of that :dunno: I mean, I guess that's good, but does that mean I still have glycogen stores? I don't have Ketostix, should I get some? I hear they aren't all that reliable. Thanks in advance for input!! So happy to be here!

Ntombi 03-12-2013 09:51 AM

I never experience any of those things while in ketosis, don't worry about it. Buy the ketostix if you like, but remember that they are not the best measurement of ketosis: some people never excrete measurable ketones in their urine, but are definitely in ketosis. If you do, and find it helpful, great. The main thing is to follow the plan, don't deviate, don't add too much crap food (low carb or not, processed crap is processed crap), and you'll be fine.

Good luck, and :welcome:

UnderCoverAbs 03-12-2013 10:00 AM

Ok, thank you! Whew! That's good to know, I guess I'm one of the lucky ones ;)

clackley 03-12-2013 12:51 PM

WELCOME UnderCoverAbs!! It sounds like you have gotten into ketosis and with minimal side effects. It is still important to replace the electrolytes that a person loses and the best way to do that is with broth... regular sodium broth..... 2 cups per day.