Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Why and how do you use coconut oil? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/798107-why-how-do-you-use-coconut-oil.html)

2f2f 02-28-2013 01:16 PM

Why and how do you use coconut oil?

I've tried to search Coconut Oil but it is referenced so many times in threads it's difficult to find out just exactly why a person uses coconut oil and how do you use it?

Insight please?

millergirl1976 02-28-2013 01:34 PM

I cook with it- a lot of people dont like the flavor, but I really dont notice. I use it in place of olive oil. I also use it as body moisturizer. I have been using it for about four months now, and my upper arms and legs are completely cleared up. :D

I use the Trader Joes brand.

Knittering 02-28-2013 01:46 PM

It helps with my energy levels, suppresses cravings, and eliminated my desire to snack mid-afternoon. I use a few teaspoons in my morning coffee and cook with it in place of butter. I also use it as a moisturizer and as a hot-oil treatment for my hair. :D

MtherGoos 02-28-2013 01:47 PM

I've been wondering about this too. I don't drink coffee, but I'd love to find some creative ways to get this in each day.

kitcub 02-28-2013 02:04 PM

I've been known to add some to protein shakes - a little heavy cream, a TB coconut oil, a few frozen strawberries, a bit of water and a scoop of strawberry or vanilla protein powder blended and it's kind of like a strawberry milkshake - yummo! Also, I've fried foods in it.

I've never put it in coffee, though. I wonder - what does it do to the texture? Does it give the coffee an oil slick feel?

As for the whys, Here's text from the Dr. Oz website: