Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Main Lowcarb Lobby
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 07:38 AM   #1
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: LiterateGriffin
Stats: 236.5 start (Jan 2012) /199.7/150 goal 5'9", 42 yr
WOE: Atkins (though I think a fairly early version)
Start Date: Jan 6 2012
Sleep and weight loss

OK, I know there's a connection. I've read about it.

Unfortunately, I've been sleeping like CRAP for several months now, and can't recall exactly WHY sleep is important to weight-loss: what the mechanic there is. (I blame this on sleep-deprivation.)

Can someone point me at some info on this?
LiterateGriffin is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 02-20-2013, 07:43 AM   #2
Blabbermouth!!!

Gallery: reddarin
Stats: 6' 47y/o 265/193/170
WOE: NK
Start Date: Aug 13, 2011
It is probably related to cortisol levels which go up when your body is stressed.
reddarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:44 AM   #3
Blabbermouth!!!

Here is a blurb from a site I found:

"While the exact way that losing sleep may contribute to obesity is not understood, studies have shown that lack of sleep affects the parts of the brain that control pleasure eating. It's also been shown that levels of the hormones leptin, ghrelin, cortisol and orexin — all of which are involved in appetite or eating — are affected by lack of sleep, the researchers said."
Old 02-20-2013, 08:21 AM   #4
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: LowCarbine
Stats: 6'7, 360 down to 280 so far.
WOE: Count Nothing | Low Carb | Cheat Often