Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Cottage cheese complaint (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/796990-cottage-cheese-complaint.html)

Gibbs 02-12-2013 01:00 PM

Cottage cheese complaint
 
5 carbs!! What the crap! Check your fridge and let me know if you have less and the brand please. Years ago I found some with 2 carbs, but they were bought out by Dean, why not save the recipe?!! Needless to say, I only had a small bite with lunch.

Jannybunny 02-12-2013 01:28 PM

Darigold 2% is 2.5 carbs (I think). I stopped eating it this past fall though so I don't currently have the container handy

flatferenghi 02-12-2013 01:32 PM

the one i use is Friendship 1% (for the taste)whipped(for the thrill)
 
it is 4 gr per 1/2 cup. I must confess, it is so easy to eat the whole 16 oz container. Love & Profits: FLATFERENGHI

jem51 02-12-2013 01:53 PM

I have both Darigold and Umpqua 4% and both say 5 carbs.
This is a protein food and I don't count carbs in any of them....of course, I am not much of a counter since I know what's in everything, pretty much.

snowmop 02-12-2013 02:19 PM

I've been eating Daisy 4%; it's 3 gr per 1/2 cup. Love the convenience and the taste!

Sister 02-12-2013 06:34 PM

I also use Daisy 4%.

svenskamae 02-12-2013 07:10 PM

I eat "Kalona Super Natural Organic Full Fat Cottage Cheese," which is 3 grams of carbs per half cup. The higher the fat content, the lower the carbs, in general. And full fat is more delicious, too, I think.

Mistizoom 02-12-2013 07:18 PM

I buy Kalona SuperNatural cream top (4% milk fat) and it has 3 g carbs per 1/2 cup. Ingredients: Certified Organic Grade A Milk, Organic Grade A Cream, Celtic Sea SaltŪ, Organic Skim Milk, Cultures.

ETA: Didn't see post above mine until after I posted. I totally agree, it tastes great!

Mistizoom 02-12-2013 07:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jannybunny (Post 16255392)
Darigold 2% is 2.5 carbs (I think). I stopped eating it this past fall though so I don't currently have the container handy

Just looked on the Dairgold website and it appears all varities have 5 g carbs (or more for flavored) per 1/2 cup.

Mistizoom 02-12-2013 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by snowmop (Post 16255495)
I've been eating Daisy 4%; it's 3 gr per 1/2 cup. Love the convenience and the taste!

Looks like a great option too! I have been buying Daisy sour cream because it is the only one I can find without lots of other junk in it, just cream.

ravenrose 02-12-2013 09:04 PM

yeah, cottage cheese just doesn't work very well if you are really watching carbs. carbier than we would expect it to be!

snowmop 02-13-2013 06:06 AM

I like it with celery and cherry tomatoes, salt and pepper, and a little vinaigrette--- a 1/2 cup with those things added makes a great lunch!

nolcjunk 02-13-2013 07:04 AM

I don't think the carbs are that high. If you don't "waste" your carbs on stuff like artificial sweeteners and lc products even those 20 can go a long way. Half a cup at 3-5 carbs isn't bad and a cup can make a very filling meal for just 6-10.

The trick is to portion out the amount because it's one of those foods where it doesn't seem like a lot when you are spooning it out of the container.

tweezybird 02-14-2013 11:57 AM

My meijer brand is 4.

synger 02-14-2013 12:20 PM

I don't think cottage cheese is any more "carb-y" than other cheeses. I just make sure not to overdo. It depends on your carb limits, whether you can include such cheeses into your plan.

MattWCZY 02-15-2013 10:46 AM

Michigan brand has 3gms per 1/2 cup, and just happens to be one of my favorites in terms of taste. Not sure about availability outside of the Midwest though :/

Gibbs 02-15-2013 11:41 AM

It's a good thing I'm in Indiana! I'll have to try it again, a few years ago I wasn't too impressed with it. Thanks!

Jannybunny 02-15-2013 02:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mistizoom (Post 16256030)
Just looked on the Dairgold website and it appears all varities have 5 g carbs (or more for flavored) per 1/2 cup.

You are right. Could be why I stopped eating it :laugh:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.