Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Main Lowcarb Lobby (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/)
-   -   Question about Low Carb recipes (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/main-lowcarb-lobby/796531-question-about-low-carb-recipes.html)

kobescoresagain 02-06-2013 09:32 AM

Question about Low Carb recipes

I have ran across some of Kevinpa's recipes and I had a question. I am currently trying to lose weight, but love a lot of carb loaded foods. Are his recipes actually lower in calories or are they mostly just transferring of calories from carbs to other types of calories?

Also I have read on some different items that the calories displayed on their labels are not correct as some calories are not able to be absorbed into the body. Is this true?

Leo41 02-06-2013 09:44 AM

I don't make 'recipes' so I'm not an expert, but I have noticed that many of the 'low carb' recipes are very high calorie. You have to judge for yourself. I try to eat whole foods, as simply prepared as possible because that's what works best for me.

As to that calorie absorption issue, I've read similar articles. That doesn't mean that calorie counts are 'wrong.' It simply suggests that one individual may process food differently than another, and that's why the caloric level at which I lose weight might be vastly different from yours--and why it's not a good idea to use online calculators to decide how much to consume.

There are a variety of factors that influence every individual's use of calories. I found my own 'level' by trial and error. If I'm not gaining or losing, I'm eating at a 'maintenance' level. No one loses weight without a caloric deficit, but what that number is depends on the individual.

svenskamae 02-06-2013 10:26 AM