Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Main Lowcarb Lobby
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 09:58 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: srbtennispro
adding carbs back into diet, what to expect?

Ok, so I have been very hard core low carb for close to 3 years. I was never overweight, but doing low carb enabled me to get very lean. I am a tennis pro, get good exercise daily. I have a fair amount of muscle so at 5'9" and 145 lb, I am about as thin as I can get and I want to stay at this weight.( I lost about 25 lbs) However, in the past few years I have not had rice, regular bread, potatoes, etc. at all. I'm quite OCD about it. I feel though, that adding some 'healthy carbs' such as sweet potatoes, lentils, some fruits, (perhaps even an occasional 'cheat' i.e. cheese sticks etc) would be a really good thing as far as health is concerned. I am just so paranoid to do it, I'm so afraid that the lbs. I lost will start creeping back on.

I'm sure this subject has been addressed numerous times, but anyone with experience, advice, I would appreciate.
srbtennispro is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 12-10-2012, 10:17 PM   #2
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: svenskamae
Stats: 235/178/135 5'3"
WOE: Nutritional Ketosis/Primal/JUDDD
Start Date: January 15, 2012
A couple of suggestions:

1) Try working your way up the Atkins carb ladder, adding just 5 grams of carbs/week, and see how you feel and whether your weight stays stable. That's what I would do, in your position.
2) Alternatively, try gradually adding carbs that are allowed on a strict paleo diet, such as sweet potato/yam, beets, higher glycemic fruits, etc.

I would personally stay away from wheat and other grains, corn, and sugars.