Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2014, 01:20 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: RyeBaby
Stocking a Pantry from Scratch

Hi!

Three weeks into this and loving it. But so far, we have stuck strictly to the basics: meat and veggies, eggs and cheese. I keep telling DH we will branch out and explore new territory soon enough, but for now we're strictly keeping it simple. (The kitchen in our temporary quarters doesn't have utensils or ventilation.)

We will be moving into our [brand] new house in about a month. I need some direction on what kinds of things I will need to fully operate a LC kitchen. I am an experienced cook, but I have been stumbling because I only know how to cook the old-fashioned way. For example:

What do I use to thicken sauces instead of cornstarch?
What can I coat fish/chicken with instead of Panko?
Are the baking mixes any good? What's a good brand?
What replaces the bread in meatloaf?
What would you suggest in place of honey?

I wanted to make a coconut chicken recipe but I can't find unsweetened coconut, so I got finely chopped pecans. It will taste good but I really wanted coconut.

We have been shopping at a national chain supermarket for right now because of where we are, but I can't find things like unsweetened coconut or LC ketchup, but we'll have other opportunities at the new house. We will have Sprouts, Trader Joe's, and Whole Foods. Which of these would you recommend? I know I can find many things on Netrition, but I don't know what to buy.

Not asking for recipes, there are a zillion of them in here and "out there," but I don't know what I need for everyday cooking. What are the staples?

Many thanks.

Last edited by RyeBaby; 05-16-2014 at 01:22 PM..
RyeBaby is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links