Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/)
-   -   new Bobs' Red Mill alm. flour, opinions? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/827795-new-bobs-red-mill-alm-flour-opinions.html)

datahamstr 04-05-2014 09:48 PM

new Bobs' Red Mill alm. flour, opinions?
 
I was wondering if anyone has tried the new blanched almond flour from
Bobs Red Mill.

Bobs previously just had the almond flour that was ground with the skins
on, and is not on Elana's "approved list".

If anyone has used it for any of Elana Amsterdams recipes successfully,
please let me know, or anyone that may have an opinion on this? I live
in Vancouver, BC, Canada, so it's harder to find blanched almond flour that
will work in Elana's recipes! :stars:

Thanks so much!
Leigh

Datahamster:)

rosethorns 04-06-2014 06:29 AM

I have not used it I use Honeyville grain blanched almond flour.Have you looked on any of the Canada web sites?

I hope other people see this. There are plenty of people from Canada on here.Maybe they can help.Yaz is from Canada.

Write a thread asking for Canadians to tell you where they find there blanched almond flour.

If you come down to WA anytime they have it at Winco grocery stores for $6.55 lb.

rosethorns 04-06-2014 06:48 AM

I just did a search for blanched almond flour in Canada.

all 3 of these have shipping to Canada I found them on Elanas pantry.
Amazon has international shipping
Nuts
Manna Harvest

I hope that helps.

ravenrose 04-06-2014 07:08 AM

I've bought that "new" Bob's almond flour for many years and I think it's great. so much more expensive than Trader Joe's with the skins though.

Chocolate Rose 04-06-2014 08:25 AM

Costco is carrying Honeyville Almond flour. Have you thought about making a trek to the Bellingham Costco?

datahamstr 04-06-2014 08:03 PM

thanks very much
 
Hi Everyone,

Thanks so much for all your helpful replies! :) I was most concerned if the
Bobs' product was as good as the other ones (such as Honeyville, etc.),
but I know a couple of places to get other kinds of almond flour such as
JK Gourmet, which is in Canada and also on Elana Amsterdams' approved list.

But the Bobs product is just the easiest for me to find. I used to drive down
to Bellingham when I had a car, but don't have one at the moment, I really
my weekend trips!!!

Thanks again, much appreciate it! :D
Hugs,
Leigh
(datahamstr)

Yaz 04-08-2014 06:42 PM

I buy my almond flour from a local health food store, as they have the best price. But they aren't a chain so they are not in BC. Do you have Bulk Barns out there? I think they have blanched almond flour.

datahamstr 04-09-2014 02:14 AM

No, not close to me that I know of. Their may be a lowcarb store near here
though, or I could get mail order
Hugs,
Leigh

Yaz 04-09-2014 05:54 AM

I prefer unblanched almond meal and have made a few of Elana's cakes as well as other food bloggers cookies that call for unblanched and my recipes have turned out fine.

Mind you I tend to really butcher their recipes by adding my own tweaks so I don't know how off my results would have been from the original if I had just used unblanched and didn't change anything else. :)

datahamstr 04-09-2014 03:59 PM

Hi Yaz, nice to hear from you! I'm in Vancouver, BC. I'm not that kind of cook--I have to follow the recipe--probably as I'm just getting back into very low carb, and cooking
more.
I had good news today; I found out there is a lowcarb store within my city; and they
also carry JK Gourmet, yay! (the main store is in Toronto, but this is a satellite store).
So I guess I'm all fixed up :-)) Thanks to all for your help!
Hugs, Leigh

Yaz 04-09-2014 06:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by datahamstr (Post 16870224)
Hi Yaz, nice to hear from you! I'm in Vancouver, BC. I'm not that kind of cook--I have to follow the recipe--probably as I'm just getting back into very low carb, and cooking
more.
I had good news today; I found out there is a lowcarb store within my city; and they
also carry JK Gourmet, yay! (the main store is in Toronto, but this is a satellite store).
So I guess I'm all fixed up :-)) Thanks to all for your help!
Hugs, Leigh

Hi Leigh!

I didn't even think of mentioning the low carb grocery stores in Toronto, they will ship for free if your order is over $100.00 I believe.

I'm about 45 minutes west of Toronto, so I tend to order from Netrition or other US suppliers and have it shipped to a US address and drive down to pick it up.

Good luck with your low carb cooking! :)

Yasmeen

datahamstr 04-09-2014 10:13 PM

Yes, good idea, to drive down and pick up across the border; which I could
still do that!

Thanks so much for your good wishes, I'll see you around the forum, as I'm
back on the lowcarbing bus, lol! :lol:

Hugs,
Leigh


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.