Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2014, 01:17 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Emita
Stats: 115/101/95
WOE: LCHF (<30 total carbs)
Start Date: June 2013
LC Baking Additives - Gluten, Fiber, Starch, etc?

Hi there,

I'm new to the world of Low Carb baking, and have so far been experimenting with pre-blended mixes that companies like LC Foods, Tova, and Dixie Diners provides. (Carbquik, DD Carb Counters All-pupose flour, etc)

However, ever the food-critic I've begun to read a few professional LC baker's blogs like Jennifer Eloff's, Buttoni's recipes, and others. They seem to use mainly coconut and almond flour blends with additives like gluccomannan, oat fiber, vital wheat gluten, wheat protein, etc.

I've heard these ingredients can make a big difference in making low carb baked goods taste like the "real thing."

I have a few questions on the purposes and amounts of these ingredients to use in recipes.

1. Can these additives be used with mixes like Carbquik or DD Carb Counter's All Purpose Flour (both are blends of many ingredients)?

2. How does one determine the proportion of main "flour" to substitute with each ingredient? I've read that most people replace an equal amount of their base flour mix with things like Oat Fiber or Vital Wheat Gluten for improved rising, taste, texture.

3. If one doesn't want to use almond or coconut flour, I have seen it implied on netrition product reviews that such combinations as Vital Wheat Gluten + oat fiber + Wheat Protein Isolate 5000 can serve as your flour for a recipe.