Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/)
-   -   Advice on a good egg nog recipe? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/818251-advice-good-egg-nog-recipe.html)

hgrzelak 12-06-2013 11:53 AM

Advice on a good egg nog recipe?

Hey all! I am new to this message board but I have nosed around it several times for good, low carb/keto friendly recipes. I have been trying to come up with a good recipe for egg nog. I have already looked around at past posts with recipes for egg nog, but have found this one to be the best tasting:

1 quart heavy cream
2/3c davinci sugar free egg nog syrup
1/4c egg beaters
1/2t vanilla extract
1/4c splenda or equivalent

It tastes wonderful! And very keto friendly. My issue with it is this: a one cup serving of this recipe contains over 800 calories! I want to stick with this recipe for the most part, but cut the calories down. So I edited the recipe like so:

2c heavy cream
2c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/4c egg beaters

Wonderful flavor still. My issue with this one is: too runny!

I have seen in the past that people use Table Creama in place of sweetened condensed milk. I have seen this in the store before, but have never used it. I saw that there is a Light Table Crema available that I was thinking of using. So I was thinking of doing this recipe:

1 quart light table crema
1/4c egg beaters
1/4c splenda or equivalent
1/2t vanilla

Still keto friendly, and a one cup serving would now be 264 calories - much better.