Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 03:44 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: Kami
Hi! I'm Kami, and I'm a Brownie Addict.

I'm Kami. I've been lowcarbing for a few years now, and I've been lurking on this forum for some time, but I've only now made an account here because I'm on a mission!

Chewy - genuinely, supremely, awesomely chewy - not-even-a-little-cakey - brownies.

I've tried so many lc brownie recipes over the years that it makes my head spin. The best of them were very dense and rich, but the texture was wrong even with the perfect flavor. Some were cakey, some were just disastrous.

I can't stand cakey brownies. I kind of like some of the dense ones that try to be fudgy, but fudgy isn't my goal, and they're usually like a thick stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth fudgy without a hint of chewiness, or they're a bit dry and oddly crumbly (usually due to coconut flour) and still not chewy, or, if you underbake slightly, then they're ooey gooey (not chewy...). None of these fit my bill.

I have other ways to get a chocolate fix, but nothing I have ever found has hit the chewy-brownie spot for me. I'm not just in it for the chocolate. I love texture, and it's ultimately supremely unsatisfying to make up yet another brownie recipe, only to find it's no better than the rest where texture is concerned.

I want honest-to-goodness chewy brownies, the texture you'd find if you bought a box mix in the store and didn't add that extra egg. Every recipe out there promises it's great, but the fan favorites all seem to be cakey, because it's the easiest to replicate.

This issue has been plaguing me for years, and I swear I will find my white whale one day...

/endrant

PS