Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 08:50 AM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: EasyPeas
Bob's Red Mill vs. Honeyville Farms Almond Flour?

Hi All I'm fairly new to low carb baking using the alternative nut flours and special ingredients. I've noticed a few recipes that specifiy using ONLY Bob's Red Mill almond flour or ONLY Honeyville, and specifying the other brand doesn't work as well. An example is Maria Emmerich's Healthified Sub Rolls. Can any of you who bake a lot clarify how the two brands of almond flourv are different in character? In other words, does one tend to be coarser, more oily, flakier, more dry, etc., than the other?

The reason I ask: I'm from the US but live in Guatemala 3/4 of the time due to my husband's work. I can't get almond flour here in Guatemala, so I have to bring it in my suitcase, and whatever I bring is all I can get till the next trip back to the US. At the moment, I only have Bob's Red Mill on hand. If I want to make a recipe that specifies using only Honeyville, I'd like to know how the flours are different so I can maybe tweak the recipe at my end for the difference in character. Thanks for any advice

Celeste
EasyPeas is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
Blabbermouth!!!

Gallery: rosethorns
Stats: 252/140/150
WOE: atkins I eat non allergic food
Start Date: restarted 1-07
I know nothing about Bob's Red Mill flour.

That being said Marie makes her rolls with blanched almond flour because this is what worked. Other people tried other flour ( unblanched almond flour) it didn't worked.

I used Honeyville and still coudn't get it to work but I will. I use Honeyville because your baked goods come out so much better.