Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 05:03 PM   #1
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: That Girl
Kale-what to do with it?

I was going to make wedding soup, but the kids came over and we ended up eating all the meatballs I made to go into the soup! What else can I do with Kale? I haven't a clue, I have never used it before...thanks!
That Girl is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 01-18-2013, 05:51 PM   #2
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: spoiltmomof2
Stats: 230/180/138
WOE: Lap Band/LC
I've never tried it but a friend of mine is always talking about making Kale Chips. You might Google that and see if it sounds good.
spoiltmomof2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:22 PM   #3
Very Gabby LCF Member!!!

Gallery: buttoni
Stats: 196/170/150
WOE: Atkins Start 4/09
Start Date: 4/21/09 Height 5'5", Age 64
Caramelize some yellow onion in bacon grease, add chopped, cleaned kale and water to cover and simmer for 30 minutes or so. Mmmm. I love kale. I can make a meal on it all by itself.
buttoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:10 PM   #4
Major LCF Poster!

Gallery: Yennie
Stats: 5'3" 35yo 199/sig/146 No longer obese!
WOE: A.I. 1/1-1/20; JUDDD 1/21/13, Potatoes as needed
I make Kale chips in the dehydrator. You can also do it in the oven, although they need to be eaten right away whereas the ones from the dehydrator can store for a few days.
Directions: Clean & destem
Unless you're using baby kale, I like all my kale "massaged". It helps break up the fibers which makes the kale easier to chew, and helps with that "bitter" taste a lot of people object to.
When making kale chips, I destem, tear and coat with olive oil. I massage for about 5 minutes, which doubles as a great hand moisterizer in this awful winter weather.