Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 11:12 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Widget
Potato Salad Recipe

I'll get to the recipe, but first... I posted something about resistant starch in another part of the forum, but there wasn't much response. More people seem to hang out here so I decided to try posting here. (This is not about the resistant corn or wheat starch that you buy.)

I have read a lot of what has been posted on this forum about resistant starch. Some of it was on the technical side, I'm a humble high school grad so hope we can keep things simple.

Resistant starch can be man-made as in Dreamfields pasta, or some foods like potatoes and beans contain differing amounts of it.

Most people cannot digest resistant starch in their small intestine (which is where glucose absorption occurs). The resistant starch then travels to the large intestine while not raising the blood sugar level. That's great for Diabetics, but also good for anyone who is eating low carb, plus studies show that among other things, resistant starch can increase the body’s ability to burn fat. It can also improve insulin sensitivity and glucose tolerance, more good news for Diabetics.

Some people are 'retrograding' the starch in potatoes to resistant starch. Boiling the potatoes whole kicks the resistant starch factor up several notches, and new potatoes already contain more resistant starch than, say, Idaho potatoes, so many of these people are using new potatoes for this. On at least one Diabetes forum, they have done their own experiments with it, with amazing results. I did a test of my own. I ate 1/2 cup of potato salad made with retrograded potatoes and here are my blood sugar readings:

Before eating - 104
1 hour - 107
2 hours - 92