Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2012, 06:53 PM   #1
Junior LCF Member

Gallery: fitnwhole
Stats: 173/168/130
WOE: Atkins
Almond Flour vs Coconut Flour vs Soy Flour

Hi Everyone!

I am a newbie and this is my first thread . I love to bake and wanted to know which flour is best for specific baked goods (bread, muffins, cake, rolls). My son is on a gluten free diet so I can't use any of the low carb baking mixes.

BTW I tried one recipe with coconut flour and I wasn't impressed but hey they could've been the recipe.

Which flour do you prefer?

Thanks
fitnwhole is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-2012, 07:39 PM   #2
Blabbermouth!!!

Gallery: rosethorns
Stats: 252/140/150
WOE: atkins I eat non allergic food
Start Date: restarted 1-07
to LCF

It depends on what you want to bake , we have gluten free bake mixes from a # of friends. Pooti, Jen.

And then there are others that are not GF.
Have you done any searching?

This thread has a lot of recipes for everything.
http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/lo...s-newbies.html

good thread
http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/lo...tortillas.html

Jen's GF bake mix is #8 on this thread
http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/lo...pics-incl.html

This is a good one from Pooti
http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/lo...-yum-pics.html

good one Jens
http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/lo...lots-pics.html

We use different flours some have to be mixed together.
Almond flour----many uses muffins, cookies, 3 min. chocolate cookie
coconut flour----needs more liquids and should be mixed with other flours
soy flour---- if you can use it it can work out great. There's a faux Atkins mix on here.
Just holler if you have more questions. We are very friendly.

This is a lot to read. Good luck and welcome!