Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/)
-   -   Low Carb Baking/Cooking Ingredients Info (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/715320-low-carb-baking-cooking-ingredients-info.html)

norsgoebel 03-27-2011 04:08 PM

Low Carb Baking/Cooking Ingredients Info

My husband and I are fairly new to low carb living and I have recently been very interested in converting many of my favorite recipes and trying a lot of the recipes here on low carb friends. In reading the recipes I am coming across many ingredients that I really have no idea what part they play in the recipe. I have been a pastry chef and worked in kitchens for 30 years so I know how and what will happen to a recipe if I substitute brown sugar for white or add an extra egg, but for low carb cooking I have no idea what a wheat protein isolate 5000 will do over a wheat protein isolate 8000 and many other ingredients I see listed in recipes. If I knew the properties and how they react with other ingredients it would be much simpler converting recipes. Is there as guide book or website out there that would give me a clue as to how to use all these new ingredients? Thanks for any help!
Barbi

Dottie 03-27-2011 04:18 PM

A lot of these products give bulk and texture to baked goods in the absence of wheat flours.

Charski 03-27-2011 04:59 PM

Hi Barbi! Welcome aboard!

As far as I know there isn't one source for the info you seek. There ARE "sticky" threads at the top of this forum, and there are lots of other threads, that deal with the ingredients you list.