Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2009, 05:17 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: amphigory
Stats: 410/351/285
WOE: Atkins Induction
Start Date: June 2009
The Low Carb Menu Challenge!

So, it's been some time since I last posted--after a long-distance move on November 1, I went "off the wagon" and (arg!) gained at least 5 lbs. So, now that Christmas and 4 kids' birthdays are over, it's time for me to get back on that old wagon and start losing again instead of gaining. To "raise the ante" a bit, I'm now dating a girl who really needs to be on a low-carb diet (Asthma, pre-Diabetes, high blood pressure, and a history of cancer)--so I need to prove to her both that this diet works and that it can be "livable."

So, I'd like to try doing something I'm not very good at: menu planning. In the past, my menu planning has consisted of, "how many steaks do I have in the freezer", but I think I need a bit more than that now.

So, here's what I thought might be a fun thread. You, dear readers, get to throw out your favorite low-carb dinners--the complete meal, that is. I will throw them all into the magic eight-ball, shuffle them according to perfectly arbitrary criteria (plus the criteria I mention below), and come up with a menu, which I will subject to your no-doubt-withering scorn. (Okay, not so withering, but it sounds more fun than "helpful criticism".) Then I will attempt to report back on the reception that each dish receives from my crowd of picky demanding eaters. Winners of the challenge will receive eternal glory and a post-dated check for $0.26 drawn on a bank in the Kingdom of Sealand. (Don't try to cash it, it's no good.)

Anybody interested?

If so, here are the criteria that seemed important to me: