Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/)
-   -   Lemon Meringue Pie..Please (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/529950-lemon-meringue-pie-please.html)

NGJ26 12-08-2007 04:48 AM

Lemon Meringue Pie..Please

Good Day All,

This site is fabulous :love: I have spent the last week, reading and enjoying, so many recipes, so little time.

After hours of searching, I did not come across a recipe for this type of pie. I'm ready to use Kevinpa's Pie Crust :cool: but desperately need a good LC filling...

Any help will be appreciated.

Sincerely
Natasha

Kevinpa 12-08-2007 05:01 AM

I have never done a lemon filling before but the meringue on the following pie worked real well.

http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/lo...ibs-crust.html

Grace 12-08-2007 06:19 AM

This is Taterhead's recipe (thanks Taterhead!) for the filling. I've been using for several years and think it's wonderful - virtually indistinguishable from the high carb version. I've also made coconut pie by leaving out the lemon juice and zest and adding coconut plus sprinkling coconut on top of the meringue. There are many versions of crusts available some using nuts and some using low-carb flours. You can do a search and find which one appeals to you. If I'm making this just for DH and me I don't even bother with crust - cuts the carbs and calories.

6 egg yokes
1 packet unflavored gelatin
1-cup water
1-cup Sugar subs
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp butter
1/3 cup lemon juice
2 teaspoons lemon zest ( must have)
1/4 tsp salt

In a LG sauce pan blend all indredients until smooth using wire whisk, then turn on the heat. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until slightly thickened. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly. Refrigerate for 1 hour or until set. Meanwhile cook your crust and allow to cool.