Low Carb Friends  
Netrition.com - Tools - Reviews - Faces - Recipes - Home

Go Back   Low Carb Friends > Recipes and Menus > Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2005, 12:42 PM   #1
Senior LCF Member

Gallery: Davian
Stats: 245 / 142 now - rather 135
WOE: Maintenance plus.....
Start Date: 02/24/04
what happened?

I made the Rugelach recipe from last February. I've got a lot of experience making kiffles and this recipe closely resembled them.

The dough consisted of cream cheese, butter and almond flour. First, I followed the instructions and rolled it into 2 balls. It was impossible to work with. So I rolled it into little balls and refrigerated for several hours. I tried to turn them into thumbprint cookies - I ended up with one big parchment of crumbly cookie dough. What a waste of materials.

Does anyone have a kiffle recipe that is rollable? I'm thinking maybe carbquik would work but even that gets very gummy especially when mixed with butter and cream cheese.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-09-2005, 01:11 PM   #2
Gadget Gal

Gallery: Charski
Stats: 174 (WW)/145/150 goal 5'5"
WOE: ATKINS, or a slight variation thereof
Start Date: May 2003
Oooo, bummer!! I have NO idea what a "kiffle" is and I've never made rugelach, so I'm no help whatsoever, unless you want to post a "regular" recipe and we can try to sleuth it out ---

Just wanted to offer my condolences on your kitchen disaster - I HATE wasting all that expensive stuff too!
Charski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 03:19 PM   #3
Way too much time on my hands!

Gallery: SoHappy
Stats: obese/slimmer
WOE: JUDDD!!!
I occasionally have oatmeal so I also sometimes whir it in my coffee grinder until it is powdered and becomes oat flour. If you can have oatmeal on your plan, perhaps a bit of oat flour worked into the dough would give it the consistency your are wanting.
SoHappy is offline   Reply With Quote