Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   Low Carb Recipe Help & Suggestions (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/)
-   -   Sugar equivalents (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/low-carb-recipe-help-suggestions/385051-sugar-equivalents.html)

sungoddess 10-25-2005 09:08 PM

Sugar equivalents

I would like to make a sugar mix of erythritol, Ace K and Trish's Splenda that will equal one cup of sugar in an old family recipe.

Can anyone tell me how much of each to use to equal one cup of sugar?

sungoddess 10-26-2005 07:57 PM

Thanks for all of your help!!

SugarBabi 10-26-2005 11:59 PM

I've never used any of those sweetners and I'm not very experienced at mixing things.

Is there an equivalent chart on the labels perhaps?

I'm sorry I don't know more. Hopefully, someone will soon.

SugarBabi 10-27-2005 12:02 AM

I found this chart online: It's for the sugar substite called sugar T**n .

Type of S*******n Equivalency to sugar Calories Carbohydrates
Granulated White 1 tsp. = 1 tsp. sugar
5 mL = 5 mL sugar 0 cal./tsp. 0 g/tsp.
Granulated Brown 1 tsp. = 1 tsp. sugar
5 mL = 5 mL sugar 0 cal./tsp. 0 g/tsp.
Liquid*
*Sold only in Canada 1/4 tsp. = 1 tsp. sugar
1 mL = 5 mL sugar 0 0
Packets - Original 1/2 packet = 1 tsp. sugar
1 packet = 10 mL sugar 0 cal./tsp. 0 g/tsp.
Sugar 18 cal./tsp. 4.5 g/tsp.

I hope that helps.

sungoddess 10-27-2005 06:12 PM

Thanks very much

scott123 10-28-2005 05:04 PM

I find that different sweetener mixes are better suited to different recipes. There is no one size fits all solution to sweetener combining. That being said, if you're totally in the dark and want a jumping off point, I'd recommend something like:

For 1 Cup Sweetening Equivalent:

1/3 C. erythritol
1/2 t. liquid splenda (1 1/2 t.= 1 cup version)
2 packets (5/8 t.) sweet one ace k