Low Carb Friends

Low Carb Friends (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/)
-   JUDDD (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/)
-   -   Hard Exercise better on DD or UD? (http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/bbs/juddd/811085-hard-exercise-better-dd-ud.html)

MargD 08-30-2013 08:19 AM

Hard Exercise better on DD or UD?

I do a heavy weight workout with a personal trainer on Mondays at 6:30 pm and Wednesdays at 7 pm. I've been doing this for approximately 3 years.

I'm contemplating giving JUDDD a try and I'm just wondering if there is a consensus about whether it's better to do hard exercise on a DD or an UD?

I wonder about having the energy for a hard workout on a DD, but I sometimes find that I'm hungrier the day after my workouts, so maybe a DD would be extra difficult then?

Fluffy_Bunny 08-30-2013 08:33 AM

I started doing strength training and cardio when I started JUDDD 7+ weeks ago after about 6 years of no workouts.

I do my strength workout on UD mornings before a good high protein breakfast. My reasoning is that after you break your muscles down with weights it's important to eat enough to help your body rebuild. On the flip side I figure doing cardio and then keeping calories low (or non existent) for several hours after is great to get maximum fat burn from time invested.

That's how I've been doing it and it seems to be working. Approximately 19.83 pounds of fat lost and 4.83 pounds of muscle gained since I started (gotta love those newbie gains!).

I haven't found my energy levels affected at all. Experiment and see what works for you.

LoCarbGal 08-30-2013 08:37 AM

Since I've been doing JUDDD for so long, I really don't feel like I can't do anything on a specific day, UD or DD. I agree with Fluffy Bunny about getting the most physically from your workout/eating timing.